The Ada Historical Society was first formed in 1974 by a group of local women interested in the history of Ada and has striven to preserve Ada’s rich historical roots. After a few years, the group disbanded. Then in the spring of 1989, the Ada historical was reorganized and they have continued to grow since. For several years the group met in the Ada Township Hall. Their goal was to have a museum in the Village. After years of hard work, along with the generosity of Frank Averill and Floyd Chaffee and others who donated money, labor, and artifacts, the Averill Historical Museum of Ada opened on August 14, 1999.

In September 1999, the Ada Historical Society moved an old barn onto their property and renovated it to showcase their displays, as well as host programs and events that are open to the public. In 2000, an old buggy was purchased and then restored in 2001. The following year, they constructed a garden shed and had part of the Museum grounds landscaped and fenced. Most recently, with the help of several local master gardeners, old time flowers and vegetables were planted. The garden has become a well-known local attraction for many people to visit and admire the scenery and take pictures.

Other on-going projects of the society include: collecting and digitizing oral histories from long-time Ada residents; digitizing  and adding to a large photograph collections; and displaying a variety of changing exhibits in our temporary exhibit space.

Read this MLive article about our fantastic new barn quilt! Stop by and see for yourself.

Ada Historical Society 2018 Strategic Plan

Ada Historical Society Bylaws

The Ada Historical Society participates in the Tri-Rivers Historical Museum Network, which also includes:

Common Corners
Historic Charlton Park
Fallasburg Historic Village
The Fighting Falcon Museum
Flat River Historical Society
Ionia County Historical Museum
Lowell Area Historical Museum

AHS Board Members

Bernard Veldkamp – President
Marie Vierson – Vice President
Marilyn Thompson – Secretary
Art Kroon – Treasurer
Betty Jo Crosby
Chris Czekai
Marilyn DeGood
Jeanne Ferro
Frank Hoover
Kevin Moran
Tom Mulligan
Sandra Sefton
Kristen Wildes – Museum Manager